Battle & Langton Church Of England Primary School
Market Road, Battle, East Sussex, TN33 0HQ

Phone Icon 01424 775987
Email Icon

Headteacher Mr Simon Hughes
  • Get Involved!
    Governor Vacancies


What We Do

We meet as a full governing board six times per academic year. Between us we represent parents, staff, the church, the local authority and the local community. We are all volunteers, committed to the overall aim of raising standards.

We work as part of the overall management structure of the school.

We have a responsibility for the accountability of the schools. Our function is to provide both support and challenge. Collectively we are responsible for the schools’ performance and are accountable to the local authority for compliance with legal obligations and sound financial management.

The Governing Board has 1 formal subcommittee which is the Finance & Operations Committee chaired by Rob Saunders, associate members have full voting rights within this subcommittee.

Under the Education Act of 2002, the law states: "The Governing Board shall conduct the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement at the school."

  • Decide the strategy for improvement.
  • Provide the Headteacher and staff with support, advice and guidance.
  • Ensure the statutory obligations and duties are met.
  • Approve budgets and ensure financial probity.
  • Ensure the health and safety of pupils and staff.
  • Monitor and evaluate the performance and effectiveness in each school against agreed targets and objectives.
  • Ensure the maintenance of the vision and ethos of each school, within the overarching Christian values of our foundation.
Our Instrument of Governance allows for 12 governors:
  • 2 Foundation Governors (1 Ex-Officio)
  • 2 Parent Governors
  • 1 Headteacher
  • 1 Staff Governor
  • 1 Local Authority Governor
  • 5 Co-opted Governors
Parent and Staff Governors are elected. All Governors serve a 4 year term.

If you would like to find out more about becoming a Governor, further information is available here

If you would like to contact the Chair of Governors please email:

Chair of Governors

Stuart Cutting

Co-Vice Chair

Kevin Doherty

Adrian Davis

Co-Opted Governors

Mark Redman

Rob Saunders

Paul Foulkes

Parent Governors

Aran Hawkins

Foundation Governors

Lee Duckett

Staff Governors

Simon Hughes

Fay Jagot

Associate Members

Gary Alexander

Julie Crocker

Alison Hassell

Murray McDonald

Lucie Tuck-Brown

Jeannie Newhouse


Ann Craddock

If you'd like to visit our school or have any questions please Contact Us via the School Office